Legal Limits to the Number of Hours a Truck Driver Can Drive Per Day
There are strict rules governing the number of hours that a commercial truck driver can log each day – and with good reason.
Many times when a truck crash in Louisiana occurs, further investigation reveals that the driver of the truck was suffering driver fatigue from too many house spent on the road. When this is determined to be the cause of a Louisiana truck accident, the truck driver has violated the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) “Final Rule.”
What is the FMCSA Final Rule?
Simply put, the FMCSA “Final Rule” is the edict specifying how long a truck driver can drive in a certain period of time. The time period for driving is 11 hours within a 14-hour period. The 14-hour period cannot be extended.
This does not mean that a truck driver can drive for 11 hours, stop for a meal or bathroom break that will last for the remainder of the 14 hours, then start driving for another 11 hours. Rather, the 11 hours out of 14 starts after the Louisiana truck driver has been off-duty for at least 10 consecutive hours.
Some Consequences of Ignoring the Final Rule
Louisiana truck drivers know that this “Final Rule,” sometimes referred to as the “11-hour rule” exists, and are aware of the consequences of ignoring it. These consequences can include both legal and civil penalties, which can be imposed even if a Louisiana truck accident did not occur.
When a violation of the “Final Rule” causes accident injuries they usually are severe, if not fatal. This is because even a well-built car, equipped with every safety feature imaginable, is simply no match for a vehicle that weighs several tons more than the car does.
An experienced Louisiana truck accident attorney understands all the federal and state truck driving regulations, including the 11-hour rule. If you are involved in a truck crash in Louisiana, a truck accident attorney can help you file a personal injury lawsuit to help you recover damages related to your truck accident and injuries. It’s important to consult an attorney as soon as possible after your truck accident to get the help you need concerning your claim.
Contacting a Louisiana Personal Injury Attorney
After a serious truck accident, while you are dealing with injuries, medical bills, car repairs, and insurance companies, it’s important to have someone working on your side.
Speaking with an experienced Louisiana personal injury attorney after a truck accident can help you understand your legal rights and options, and if necessary, help you file a personal injury lawsuit to help you recover compensation for your losses.
The Louisiana personal injury lawyers at the Law Offices of J. Price McNamara can help you recover damages for medical bills, ongoing medical treatment, property damage, and other accident-related expenses. Contact us to schedule your FREE legal consultation today – (866) 248-0580.