Louisiana Car Insurance Requirements in Baton Rouge and Metairie
The state of Louisiana requires that all state residents who operate a motor vehicle must provide proof of financial responsibility. This means that you need to prove that you will be able to repay the cost of any damages that may be caused by an accident with your vehicle. Establishing this financial responsibility usually occurs through purchasing liability coverage that meets the Louisiana car insurance requirements.
To register your vehicle in Louisiana, you must meet the minimum Louisiana car insurance requirements.
These minimum insurance requirements include:
- $25,000 for property damage
- $15,000 per person for bodily injury or death
- $30,000 per accident for bodily injury or death
Many car owners choose to purchase extra insurance coverage for added protection in the event of a serious car accident.
Types of Car Insurance Coverage
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage will cover some or all of the medical expenses that you may suffer in a Louisiana car accident. This may also include lost wages, any pain that the victim suffers, and funeral expenses if the victim should die. PIP may cover the driver of the other vehicle when two cars are in an accident, as well as any pedestrians who are injured or involved.
Uninsured motorist coverage will cover the damages caused by an uninsured at-fault driver. This means that if another driver’s negligence causes a Louisiana car accident, and that driver is not insured, your policy will cover the damages that were caused by the other driver. In Louisiana, you must choose to opt out of this type of coverage when applying for your car insurance.
Collision coverage will compensate a policy holder for the actual physical damages to their vehicle, and any other property that may have been damaged in an accident. In these cases an insurance adjuster will try to determine the value of the damages, and many times their estimations will be less than you deserve. To know your rights and get legal advice after a Louisiana car accident, you can seek the expertise of a Louisiana personal injury attorney.
Contacting a Baton Rouge Personal Injury Lawyer
If you have been seriously injured due to someone else’s negligence, your car insurance or that of the party may not offer enough compensation to help cover your expenses. Get the compensation you deserve by contacting a Louisiana personal injury attorney who can explain your legal rights and help you file a personal injury claim. Contact a Baton Rouge personal injury lawyer today at the Law Offices of J. Price McNamara – 866-248-0580.