Affect of Uninsured Motorist Coverage after a Louisiana Car Accident
While uninsured motorist coverage is not a standard requirement for Louisiana car insurance policies, it’s a good idea to have it. The state of Louisiana requires only Personal Injury Protection at $10,000 per person, $20,000 per accident and $10,000 in Property Liability.
If your Louisiana car accident occurred with a driver who did not carry this minimum required insurance coverage, or was completely uninsured, you may be out of luck when seeking compensation. Uninsured motorist coverage in Louisiana will protect you from this danger, and an experienced Louisiana car accident attorney can also help negotiate with the insurance companies on your behalf.
What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Louisiana?
Uninsured motorist coverage is an optional amount of insurance that you can choose to add to your car insurance policy. This coverage is in place to compensate for the lack of insurance of the other driver. Your insurance company will pay up to the amount of coverage you requested for your own personal damages.
The purpose of this coverage is to ensure that your needs are taken care of in the event your Louisiana car accident took place with a hit-and-run driver, or an uninsured or underinsured motorist. Because the other party doesn’t have the insurance coverage to pay for your damages, your own company has to step in to make sure you are compensated for your injuries and accident-related expenses.
Contacting a Louisiana Uninsured Car Accident Attorney
If you’re unsure of your uninsured motorist coverage, or you didn’t include it in your policy, you still have options. An experienced Louisiana car accident attorney at the Law Offices of J. Price McNamara can help examine your Louisiana car accident and determine if a Louisiana personal injury lawsuit can help your settlement.